Skip to content

Foodie

June 16, 2009

Like Candy, I love cooking. Unlike Candy, I’m too lazy to cook enough to be able to blog about it EVERY DAY (show off ;) ).

Every now and then, however, I get inspired and try something a little different. We can’t get TOO crazy in this household – I’d hear about it for weeks if it didn’t come out 5 star quality – but every now and then I’ll find something just a little outside our comfort zone, and we’ll be presently surprised with a new favorite.

Now, I know you’re all thinking, “Well, if you like to cook these 5 star items and you’re trying to take pictures, why don’t you take pictures and show us? We all love food and we love visual cooking aids. WHY?!?!”

Well, from what I’ve been learning (as Candy teaches here) is that proper lighting is KEY to taking great pictures.

And now, a moment of silence for my kitchen:

kitchen

As you can see – no windows. No windows = no natural light = no good food pictures. *sigh* The only windows in our place are in the bedrooms or the sliding door off of the living room. And, really, who prepares food in the living room or bedroom? Not kosher.

But I did manage to snap a few good ones of my latest masterpiece:

Strawberry Bread.

Just sit and think about it for a minute. Bread. Strawberries. Fresh Bread. Local Strawberries. At first, it seems like a bizarre combination akin to those fruit cakes you get at Christmas time that always end up as door stops because they’re so hard.
Here it is shrouded in mystery (or a dishtowel; a dishtowel called mystery…I’ll just stop right now)
bread1

I actually wasn’t able to take a picture of it whole – it just didn’t last that long. We ate it almost in a day, it was THAT GOOD if I do say so myself.

Ah, there it is…so moist and tasty…
strawberrybread1

I could eat this for weeks…check out all the chunks of strawberries. SO GOOD.
strawberrybread2

That’s all from me for today. Check back later and I can show off my war wounds from last weekend.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

